Employees Honored by League for Innovation in the Community College

Kristin Kehrwald 301-784-5152




CUMBERLAND, Md. (Mar. 29, 2022) – Allegany College of Maryland employees Ronald “Ron” Krug, Dione Clark-Trub and Shea Bonagrio received League Excellence Awards presented virtually during the League for Innovation in the Community College’s Innovations Conference held Feb. 28 to Mar. 3. They were selected by a committee of their peers. 

Ronald “Ron” Krug

Ron Krug, an associate professor and assistant chair of the Division of Business and Economics, joined ACM in 2006. An innovative, learner-centered teacher, he leads classes that encourage student collaboration through in-class, hands-on activities frequently aimed at problem solving. He works diligently to expand the Division’s transfer agreements with four-year colleges and universities. 

The first instructor in the Business and Economics Division to offer flex courses, Krug continuously uses new and evolving technologies to reach his students. He’s dedicated to teaching cutting-edge business practices, frequently bringing in supplemental research and materials, and networking with other instructors both locally and nationally to stay ahead in the field. He recently researched and took the lead in drafting curriculum for the college’s recently approved Social Media Marketing certificate program. 

Krug is a dedicated servant-leader recognized on his for his work on Faculty Senate and other college committees; his active participation, including regular presentations, at professional conferences; and his volunteerism within the community. He annually chairs the college’s campaign for County United Way. He frequently serves in leadership capacities and volunteers for a myriad of organizations, including the County United Way, the Allegany County of Chamber, Achievement Counts, March of Dimes March for Babies, the Special Olympics of Maryland, and educational mission work, among others. He is a certified public accountant. 

Dione Clark-Trub

Dione Clark-Trub, an academic access and resources coordinator in the Academic Access and Disability Resources Office, joined ACM in 2018. Her professional and welcoming demeanor puts students with learning differences at ease when they arrive at the college. She assists them with registration process, connects them to on and off-campus resources, and provides academic and emotional support during their tenure at ACM. Trained in the Center for Mind-Body Medicine’s model of resilience building at the college, she has led virtual eight-week mind-body skills group sessions and employee “Let’s Talk About It” sessions during the pandemic. She contributes to innovative practices and initiatives that support student retention and persistence, and she is a model of a fearless and inspiring academic professional. 

As co-chair of the Student Emergency Support Committee, Dione is a driving force to break down barriers to student learning and success. She’s worked to alleviate food insecurity among students as well as the lack of essential personal hygiene and basic supplies. She’s pursued grants, helped acquire a dedicated location for The Pantry, developed electronic forms for student requests, and introduced three hydroponic gardens to provide students with fresh produce and herbs. 

Within the community, she serves on a number of boards, including the Children’s Council, and has served as a robotics team coach for the Allegany County 4-H. 

Shea Bonagrio

Shea Bonagrio, administrative associate to the dean of Continuing Education and Workforce Development, joined ACM in 2006. Known for her willingness to help across programs and departments, she’s regarded as essential to the college’s continued success. She facilitates numerous projects, including the college’s Continuing Education catalogs, and pitches in when areas are short on staff or in need of extra administrative help. She’s been elected to serve on the college’s Associate Support Staff Association committee and other committees. 

When the majority of continuing education and workforce development classes were postponed or canceled due to the pandemic, Bonagrio lent her talents to help students who were receiving assistance to continue their classes or programs. She tracked financial aid spending and scholarship funds that included the Maryland Governor’s Emergency Relief Funds and the federal Higher Education Emergency Relief Funds. 

Bonagrio is active with her daughter’s school, frequently attends local cultural events, and supports a local dance and drill team in addition to many fundraising and nonprofit organizations. 

A Tradition of Celebrating Excellence. 

The League for Innovation in the Community College (League) established the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards in 2012 to recognize outstanding faculty, staff, and leaders in the community college field who have made a significant difference in the lives of students and in the communities their colleges serve. Building upon past practice, the League continues this tradition of celebrating excellence with the League Excellence Awards.

The League is an international nonprofit organization with a mission to cultivate innovation in the community college environment. Founded in 1968 by B. Lamar Johnson and a dozen U.S. community and technical college presidents, the League has proudly served community college institutions for almost five decades.

Search for a program or interest