Main Content

Firearm Safety



 Maryland Hand Gun Qualification (HQL) Course (VTE874)

 

This Handgun Qualification License training is a four-hour block of instruction which includes classroom instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant demonstrate the ability to safely fire a handgun. Unless otherwise exempt, as of October 1, 2013, a Maryland Resident must possess a valid Handgun Qualification License before they may purchase, rent, or receive a handgun. Both the instructional portion and the operation and handling demonstration of the course (via simulation) will occur in the classroom.

Approved HQL training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors. Students must be 18 years of age to enroll. Training is valid for 3 years and must be completed prior to submitting an application for a Handgun Qualification License. The Handgun Qualification License is only needed for purchasing, transferring, or renting a regulated firearm after October 1, 2013 in Maryland. You do not need a Handgun Qualification License to own a gun you already have. If class enrollment is seven or more students, the extra time built into the course allows for each student to have their fingerprints taken (required for the HQL license) as well as to apply online for their HQL from the Maryland State Police with aid from the instructor. Note: fingerprinting and the MSP online application requires an additional fee payable by credit card to outside vendors.

 

 

9/15, Saturday (1 Sessions)
8:00 AM - 1:00 PM   

Also offered:           

10/27 Saturday (1 session)
8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

11/17, Saturday (1 Session)
8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

12/15, Saturday (1 Session)
8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

 

ACM: CE Building
Instructor: Rick Sivic

Course Cost: $60.00

Maryland Senior Course Cost:  $55.00

 

 Maryland Wear and Carry Permit Training (VTE881)

 

With the passage of the 2013 Firearms Safety Act, effective October 1, 2013, the training requirements for all Maryland Wear and Carry permit holders has changed. The updated Wear and Carry Permit training is 16 hours of instruction and will include instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy. The classroom portion of the course will occur at Allegany College of Maryland and the operation and handling demonstration will occur at a secure firing range. Successful completion of the course does not guarantee you will be awarded a permit from the State of Maryland. Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who displays good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary as a reasonable precaution against danger. Please note that successful completion of the course does not fully qualify one to be eligible for a Wear and Carry permit; an application must be submitted, reviewed, and awarded by the State of Maryland.

The State of Maryland considers a good and substantial reason to be one of the following:

  1. Owner or employee of a business (Business owners who pass a background check typically qualify for the permit); 2. Professional Activities; 3. Correctional Officers; 4. Former Police Officers; 5. Private Detective/Security Guard/Special Police/Armored Car Guards; 6. Personal Protection (There must be documented evidence of recent threats, robberies, and/or assaults, supported by official police reports or notarized statements from witnesses).

Students must be 18 years of age to enroll and must bring a firearm and ammunition for the range portion of the course. Students may rent a firearm and ammunition from the instructor directly on the day of the course for an additional fee. (Firearm and ammunition must be locked in trunk of car in separate lock boxes while on ACM's campus.) The extra time built into the course allows for travel to the firing range and one-on-one instruction on the range.

 

 

9/21-9/22, Friday (2 Sessions)
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

ACM: CE Building
Instructor: Rick Sivic

Course Cost: $190.00

Maryland Senior Course Cost:  $185.00

 





 Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Training (VTE902)

This classroom training covers all aspects and requirements required by Utah for eligibility to apply for a Non-Resident Utah Concealed Firearm Permit. While this permit is valid in 31 states, including Ohio, West Virginia, and Virginia, it is NOT valid in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Students will complete the Utah application during the class and will be reviewed by the instructor. Required photographs and fingerprinting will be done during the class at no additional cost. Please note that if your state issues a concealed carry permit, you need to provide a copy of that permit to obtain your Utah permit. One must pass a criminal background check in order to obtain the Utah Concealed Firearm permit as well. This permit is valid for 5 years. Students should note there is also a $67.00 Permit fee to the State of Utah (paid with application submission).

 

9/6, Thursday (1 Sessions)
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Also offered:

12/5, Wednesday (1 session)
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

ACM: CE Building
Instructor: Rick Sivic

Course Cost: $110.00

Maryland Senior course cost: $105.00