Main Content
English

English - Area of Concentration (AOC)

Are you fascinated by words? Do you find beauty in well-written stories or speeches? Are you interested in a career in communications? Let Allegany College of Maryland's English program encourage your interests and prepare you for transfer to a four-year institution.

Overview

Stack of BooksIt's no secret that today's employers rank communication skills as their number one desired employee job quality. Our English program helps you meet this demand by improving your written and oral communication skills while at the same time preparing you for transfer.

As you work towards earning your Associate of Arts degree in Arts and Sciences, you'll expand your knowledge by taking a variety of literature, writing, and foreign language classes. With small class sizes (an average of 25 students per class), you will receive personal attention and advisement - whether you're beginning Freshman Composition or exploring Creative Writing. You'll also have the opportunity to take courses at any of our three campuses and online. (We currently offer Freshman Composition and Advanced Composition as online classes, with additional courses in development.)

Whether you choose to submit your original works to Expressions, our annual literary magazine, or participate in our creative writing group, the Neo-beats, you will have the chance to share your creative side with our college community.

Course Info

As an English program student, you'll expand your knowledge through a variety of challenging courses, including:

  • Freshman Composition
  • Introduction to Literature
  • Business and Technical Communications
  • College Vocabulary Development
  • Literature Survey Courses
  • Creative Writing
  • English Reading Projects

A full listing of program courses and their descriptions can be found in the credit catalog.

These links open to specific catalog pages and are best viewed through Firefox, Crome, or Internet Explorer.  Safari browsers will not link to the specific page. 

Career Info

English program graduates enjoy enriching and rewarding careers in:

  • The Arts
  • Business
  • Education administration
  • Journalism and media
  • Law
  • Publications
  • Teaching

 *Some English careers may require a bachelor's degree. 

View Salary Information from the U.S. Dept. of Labor

Career Coach - Helping Students Set Career Goals

Faculty/Staff Info

Jenna Gallion, Associate Professor and Division Chair


301-784-5239
jgallion@allegany.edu
Humanities 39

B.S., Frostburg State University

M.A., Oklahoma State University

 



Sharon Yoder, Associate Professor and Assistant Chair


301-784-5297
syoder@allegany.edu
Humanities 38

B.A., Eastern Mennonite College

M.S., Shenandoah University

Additional doctoral study at Indiana University of Pennsylvania

 



Laura Fiscus, Assistant Professor and Program Director


301-784-5355
lfiscus@allegany.edu
Humanities 52

B.A., University of Pittsburgh

M.Ed., Frostburg State University

 



Brenda Mathews, Faculty/Administrative Assistant


301-784-5289
bmathews@allegany.edu
Humanities 67

A.A., Allegany College of Maryland

 



Lynn Bowman, Associate Professor

301-784-5258
lbowman@allegany.edu
Humanities 56

B.A., St. Mary's College of Maryland

M.A., University of Maryland, College Park

Additional graduate study at University of Maryland, College Park

 



Ashley Dively, Instructor and Program Coordinator


301-784-5238
adively@allegany.edu
Humanities 51

B.S., Frostburg State University

M.A., Millersville University

 



Melody Gaschler, Assistant Professor

301-784-5697
mgaschler@allegany.edu
College Center 186

B.S., Indiana University of Pennsylvania

M.Ed., Frostburg State University

 



Heather Greise, Assistant Professor


301-784-5459
hgreise@allegany.edu
Humanities 54

B.S., Westminster College

M.A., West Virginia University

 



Ronald Jenkins, Associate Professor and Editor, Expressions


301-784-5117
rjenkins@allegany.edu
Humanities 25

B.A., University of Tennessee

M.A., M.F.A., University of Memphis

Ph.D., Florida State University

 



Matthew Marafino, Professor


301-784-6232
mmarafino@allegany.edu
Bedford Campus, Room 4

B.A., M.A., Georgetown University

 



Tonya A. Shepherd, Associate Professor


301-784-6119
tshepherd@allegany.edu
Humanities 28

B.A., Slippery Rock University

M.A., Carnegie Mellon

Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania

 



Kenton Stone, Associate Professor


301-784-5292
kstone1747@allegany.edu
Humanities 36

B.S., Evangel College

M. Divinity, Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary

M.A., Ph.D., University of Kansas

 



Tino Wilfong, Assistant Professor


301-784-5675
twilfong@allegany.edu
Humanities 62

B.A., University of Pittsburgh, Johnstown

M.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania