We’re taking extensive precautions to keep you (and us) #ACMstrong. We require all students, campus visitors, and employees to wear face masks or face coverings, practice proper hand hygiene and social distancing measures, and self-monitor for coronavirus/COVID-19 disease symptoms. Everyone is required to sign in when visiting an office or department, and attending class or a lab. Hand sanitizer is available in all buildings. ACM campuses and education sites undergo intensive cleaning and sanitation daily. This includes the use of special cleaning chemicals and an ultraviolet (UV) sanitation cart for high touch areas like computer labs. Disinfectant wipes will be provided to individual students as they enter their classroom. We’ve changed the way we’re offering classes to reduce the number of students in each class. This act of reducing classroom density may help you build stronger relationships with your classmates and instructors in the process.
Maryland Hand Gun Qualification (HQL) Course (C/S874)
Maryland Hand Gun Qualification (HQL) Course (VTE874) This Handgun Qualification License training is a four-hour block of instruction which includes classroom instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate the ability to safely fire a handgun. Unless otherwise exempt, as of October 1, 2013, a Maryland Resident must possess a valid Handgun Qualification License before they may purchase, rent, or receive a handgun. The instructional portion of the course will occur in the classroom. The operation and handling demonstration of the course will either occur in the classroom (via simulation) or at a secure firing range, based on weather conditions.
Approved HQL training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors. Students must be 18 years of age to enroll. Training is valid for 3 years and must be completed prior to submitting an application for a Handgun Qualification License. Individuals may not purchase a firearm until 21 years of age. The Handgun Qualification License is only needed for purchasing, transferring, or renting a regulated firearm after October 1, 2013 in Maryland. You do not need a Handgun Qualification License to own a gun you already have. The extra time built into the course allows for each student to have their fingerprints taken (provided by a third party service and based on the number of course enrollments), which is required for the HQL application as well as to apply online for their HQL from the Maryland State Police with aid from the instructor. Note: fingerprinting and the MSP online application requires an additional fee payable by credit card to outside vendors.
10/2, Saturday (One Session)
10/23, Saturday (One Session)
12/4, Saturday (One Session)
12/18, Saturday (One Session)
All sessions 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Location: J & J Bait, Frostburg, MD
Instructor: John Sagal
Course Cost: $75.00
Maryland Senior Course Cost: $70.00