Main Content
Biological Science banner

Biological Sciences

Are you drawn to the fast-paced environment of an emergency room? Do you want to understand how to best reduce your carbon footprint? If so, Allegany College of Maryland's Associate's Degree in Biological Sciences may be your first step to a career in medicine, botany, or biology.

Overview

Side Profile of a MicroscopeWith small class sizes and attentive faculty, our Biological Sciences program offers you the opportunity to learn both in the classroom and in the laboratory -- whether your dream job is in a medical facility or a wildlife preserve.

If you're looking to apply to one of our allied health programs or pursue a bachelor’s degree in biology, our first and second-year biological sciences courses focus on improving your lab skills and your overall understanding of biology. You'll explore anatomy through dissection, and perform dialysis. In addition, you'll learn important lab techniques such as chromatography -- the separation of mixtures -- and DNA analysis, among others.

Our Biological Sciences program coursework in environmental science and botany also offers in-depth lab components. For example, labs in environmental science and botany take the classwork to the local woods, and the field biology class travels to New England, Florida, or the Southwest United States.

Course Info

As a Biological Sciences program student, you'll expand your knowledge and gain career training through a variety of challenging courses, including:

  • Intro to Biology I & II
  • Human Biology
  • Fundamentals of Nutrition
  • Botany 
  • Dendrology I & II
  • Forest Biology
  • Medicinal Botany
  • Human Anatomy and Physiology, Osteology, Musculoskeletal Anatomy
  • Environmental Science
  • Microbiology
  • Essentials of Cell Biology and Genetics
  • Biotechnology
  • Field Studies

A full listing of program courses and their descriptions can be found in the credit catalog. Updated information can be obtained in the catalog addendum.

Career Info

Graduates of the Biological Sciences program enjoy enriching and rewarding careers as:

  • Allied Health Professionals
  • Biologists
  • Biotechnologists
  • Dentists
  • Herbologists
  • Nanotechnology Technicians (in research or nanofabrication)
  • Physicians
  • Pharmacists
  • Botanists
  • Veterinarians
  • Teachers

*Some of the above careers may require additional training and/or a bachelor's degree.

View Salary Information from the U.S. Dept. of Labor.

Faculty/Staff Info

Full Time Biology Faculty


Michele Barmoy, Assistant Professor of Biology

301-784-5071
mbarmoy@allegany.edu

B.A., University of Maryland Baltimore County
M.S., Frostburg State University


Donna Brunelli, Associate Professor of Biology

301-784-6130
dbrunelli@allegany.edu
Somerset County Campus, PH-20

B.S., Wilkes University
D.O., Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine


James Howell, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

301-784-5251
jhowell@allegany.edu
Sciences 52

B.A., Miami University of Ohio
M.S., Miami University of Ohio
Ph.D., Miami University of Ohio
Additional graduate study at Frostburg State University and West Virginia University


Howard Kramer, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

301-784-5344
hkramer@allegany.edu
Sciences 69

B.S., City College of New York
M.A., Clark University
Ph.D., McGill University
Postdoctoral research at Rockefeller University in New York


Stacie Rafter, Assistant Professor of Biology

301-784-6225
srafter@allegany.edu
Science 61 and Bedford County Campus, AC-5

B.S., Georgia State University
M.Ed., George Washington University


Timothy Turner, Associate Professor of Biology

301-784-5254
tturner@allegany.edu
Sciences 65

B.S., Frostburg State University
M.Ed., Frostburg State University


Margaret Waldmann, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

301-784-5254
mwaldmann@allegany.edu
Sciences 60

B.S., Iowa State University
M.S., University of Texas at El Paso
Ph.D., Michigan State University


Yunxuan Yang, Associate Professor of BioChemistry

301-784-5255
yyang@allegany.edu
Sciences 56

B.A., University de Provence-Aix-Marseille, France, Biochemistry
M.S., University de Provence-Aix-Marseille, France, Cell Biology
M.S., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Biochemistry


Active Professor Emeritus

 

Patricia S. Andrews, Professor Emeritus of Biology

301-784-5255
pandrews@allegany.edu
Sciences 61

B.S., Frostburg State University
M.Ed., Frostburg State University
Additional graduate study at Frostburg State


James D. Stickler, Professor Emeritus of Biology and Chemistry

301-784-5255
jstickler@allegany.edu
Sciences 57

B.S., West Virginia University
M.S., Ph.D., University of Kentucky
B.A., Morris Harvey College
C.A.S., West Virginia College of Graduate Studies


Full Time Temporary Faculty

 

Joseph Statkus, MD, Assistant Professor of Biology Full-time temporary

301-784-5248
jstatkus@allegany.edu
Sciences 57

B.A., Jacksonville University
M.D., Uniformed Services University of the Health Service


Cynthia Carnahan, Assistant Professor of Biology

301-784-5525
ccarnahan@allegany.edu
Sciences 59

B.S., Frostburg State University
M.S., Frostburg State University


Adjunct Faculty

Marc Abe, Adjunct Biology

301-784-5255
mabe2423@allegany.edu
Sciences 68A

B.S., Frostburg State University
M.Ed., Frostburg State University


Danny Carter, Adjunct Biology

301-784-5255
dcarter@allegany.edu
Sciences 68A

B.S., Frostburg State University
M.Ed., Frostburg State University


Beth Herman, Adjunct Biology

301-784-5211
bherman@allegany.edu
Sciences 68B

B.S., The Pennsylvania State University
Additional study at Wilson College


Jeremy Oldham, Adjunct Biology and Assistant Professor Physical Therapy

301-784-5537
joldham@allegany.edu
AH Building and S68B

A.A.S., Allegany College of Maryland
B.S., The Pennsylvania State University


Jay Walbert, Adjunct Biology and Chemistry

301-784-5255
jwalbert@allegany.edu
Science 68B

B.S., Frostburg State University
M.Ed., Frostburg State University